We’re days away from the start of the Star Wars: Battlefront 2 beta, and we’ve got a lot of ground to cover.

The Star Wars: Battlefront 2 beta kicks off next week, and will only be available for one weekend. Although it’s an open beta, not everyone will gain access at the same time.

A lot of people are looking forward to the Battlefront 2 beta because many felt that the 2015 Battlefront was lacking in content. With EA now happy to flaunt the expanded content in the launch version of Battlefront 2, a lot of purchase decisions will rely on impressions made during the beta.

When does the Battlefront 2 beta start, and what platforms will it be available on?

The Star Wars: Battlefront 2 beta will be available on PC, PS4, and Xbox One – with no early access for any of the three platforms. The beta goes live in two phases.

The first phase is available only to those who pre-ordered the game, either digitally or at retail. For this group, the beta will go live on Wednesday, October 4 at the following times:

  • PDT: 1am
  • EDT: 4am
  • BST: 9am
  • CEST: 10am

The next phase kicks off on Friday, October 6 at the same times above. The beta wraps up for all on Monday, October 9 at the times below:

  • PDT: 9am
  • EDT: 12pm
  • BST: 5pm
  • CEST: 6pm

What sort of content is in the beta, and how big is it?

The Star Wars: Battlefront 2 beta is actually among EA’s biggest, in terms of content. The beta includes Galactic Assault mode on Naboo – which we saw a lot of at E3 2017, and the Starfighter Assault (space combat) mode on Fondor – shown off at gamescom 2017.

The beta will also include the new Strike mode, where it will take us to Maz Kanata’s castle on Takodana. Finally, Battlefront 2’s Arcade mode will be available to play in single-player. These Arcade scenarios will take place in Theed.

As for the download size, EA has not yet confirmed it. However, the publisher warned that it’s going to be bigger than any other beta in EA’s history, so be prepared for a hefty download.

What are the minimum and recommended PC specs?

As recently revealed, the Battlefront 2 beta has some hefty minimum and recommended PC specs. As you can see below, you’ll need at least an i5 6600K CPU to run it. With that in mind, these specs are only for the beta, so things could be better optimised for launch.

Minimum PC specs

  • OS: 64-bit Windows 7 SP1, Windows 8.1 and Windows 10
  • Processor: AMD FX-6350, Intel Core i5 6600K
  • Memory: 8GB RAM
  • Graphics card: AMD Radeon HD 7850 2GB, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB
  • DirectX: 11.0 Compatible video card or equivalent
  • Online Connection Requirements: 512 KBPS or faster Internet connection
  • Hard-drive space: 15GB

Recommended PC Specs

  • OS: 64-bit Windows 10 or later
  • Processor: AMD FX 8350 Wraith, Intel Core i7 6700 or equivalent
  • Memory: 16GB RAM
  • Graphics card: AMD Radeon RX 480 4GB, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB
  • DirectX: 11.1 Compatible video card or equivalent
  • Online Connection Requirements: 512 KBPS or faster Internet connection
  • Hard-drive space: 15GB

Star Wars: Battlefront is out November 17, or November 13 for Deluxe Edition owners.

Read more here: VG247