Destiny 2: Three of Coins is bugged right now, so save your shards

The Three of Coins item has returned to Destiny 2 as of last week, but a bug is preventing them from working properly.

Right now, until 9am PST, 12pm EST, 5pm UK, 6pm CET on December 19, you can buy the Three of Coins from Xur for 31 Legendary Shards. This item is a consumable that gives you a higher chance of claiming Exotics.

The Three of Coins is a bit different in Destiny 2 – it “increases chances to receive Exotic engrams from events in the world” for four hours, meaning that if you pop one and then grind for four hours your chances of landing Exotics should be higher, meaning that you don’t need to pop them right before defeating bosses for maximum effect this time. However, it seems that the Three of Coins is not working as it should be right now.

A post on Reddit is full of anecdotes about people not reaping any benefits from the Three of Coins, using several in a row and finding absolutely no Exotics. It seems that the Three of Coins is bugged, and is not having the effect it is meant to.

Bungie Community Manager has tweeted confirmation that the team is looking into this, and that details on their findings will be announced soon.

Our Player Support team is investigating feedback about Three of Coins. We’ll share some details on our findings on Monday.

— DeeJ (@DeeJ_BNG) December 17, 2017

Destiny 2 players have had a rough trot lately – this isn’t as bad as the way Curse of Osiris (initially, at least) locked off some content for vanilla players, or the XP scaling issue, but it does mean that some players have wasted their Legendary shards.

Hopefully, if Xur shows up again next week with Three of Coins, they’ll actually do something.

Read more here: VG247